Issue 68 | September 2010

* Director's Notes
* Message from Mia
* Pencil Me In:

LA EVENTS

  • Harvardwood Salon Series with Josh Newman, Director of Digital Media at Fox, Wed., Sept. 8
  • Harvardwood Helps Blood Drive, Sat., Sept. 11
  • Harvardwood Heads To...Kelley Nicole featured at The Red Light Lounge, Sun., Sept. 12
  • Harvardwood Seminar Series and Showbiz Cafe present The Stardom Strategy with Music Legend Ken Kragen, Tues., Sept. 21
  • LA Harvardwood Music Group Meeting and Jam Session, Thurs., Sept. 23
  • Harvardwood Seminar Series: Creative Integration for Writers, Wed., Sept. 29

BOSTON EVENTS

  • 1st meeting of the Harvardwood Music Group in Boston, Sun., Sept. 19

NY EVENTS

  • Harvardwood Heads To...Invitation to join IvyLife-Harvard Morning Networking Coffees, Thurs., Sept. 23

* Moving to a new city? Update your primary Harvardwood Chapter
* Join the Harvardwood Writers' Program (HWP) for Screenwriters/Playwrights in NYC
* Join the Harvardwood Writers' Program (HWP) for Screenwriters in LA
* Join the Harvardwood Writers' Program (HWP) for Screenwriters in Boston
* Seeking actors to audition for the Harvardwood Talent Group - LA
* Coming soon...HARVARD IN HOLLYWOOD - Save the Date! - LA
* Seeking writers for the Harvardwood Highlights
* Audition for the Harvardwood Actors Program - NY & LA
* Special Announcement
* Industry Successes
* Harvardwood Artist Showcase
* Featured Member Posting: Seeking a documentarian in residence - NY
* Member Profile: Ken Kragen HBS '60

Read more
Add your reaction Share

Issue 67 | August 2010

* Director's Notes
* Message from Mia
* Pencil Me In:

LA EVENTS

  • Harvardwood Film Festival, Sat., Aug. 14

NY EVENTS

  • All Ivy Entertainment Summer Mixer w/ Cornell, Stanford, Dartmouth, and Harvard, Mon., Aug. 2
  • HBS EMC invites Harvardwood to HBS/CBS Media Mixer, Wed., Aug. 4
  • Harvardwood Entertainment Law Panel, Thurs., Aug. 5
  • Harvardwood Heads To...The Water Dream, Sun., Aug. 8
  • Harvardwood Presents: IVA WITHERS, Star of CAROUSEL, OKLAHOMA, and GUYS & DOLLS, Wed., Aug. 11
  • Harvardwood Heads To...The Gary Negbaur Group Plays 5C Cafe, Fri., Aug. 13

* HWP TV Writing Module Facilitators Needed
* Fall TV Writers Program Survey
* Enjoy Paul Gulino, Gregg Hurwitz, and Rodrigo Garcia on the Harvardwood Channel
* Seeking new participants for the NYC Harvardwood Writers' Groups - NY
* Industry Successes
* Harvardwood Artist Showcase
* Featured Member Posting: Television Comedy Writer needed - LA
* Member Profile: Thania St. John '83

Read more
Add your reaction Share

Issue 66 | July 2010

* Director's Notes
* Message from Mia
* Pencil Me In:

LA EVENTS

  • Harvardwood Heads To...The Art & Science of Stage Hypnosis w/ Dr. Ali Binazir, Thurs., July 1
  • Harvardwood Seminar Series: Researching and Writing Mayhem with Gregg Hurwitz '95, Thurs., July 15

NY EVENTS

  • Harvardwood Presents THOMAS FLEMING: Romance, Spies, and Bunker Hill, Wed., July 14
  • Harvardwood Food & Wine: Jeannie Cho Lee on Matching Wine with Asian Cuisines, Tues., July 20
  • Harvardwood Presents ROMANTIC JAZZ FOR A SUMMER EVENING: Thos Shipley (w/ Jerome Harris '73), Thurs., July 29

* Apply for the Harvardwood Mentorship Program (HMP)! - LA
* Business Opportunities
* Harvardwood Film Festival UPDATE
* Submit for the 2010 Harvardwood Writers' Competition - deadline JULY 30
* Seeking new participants for the NYC Harvardwood Writers' Groups - NY
* Calling all Summer Interns!
* Changing your email address? How to update your account.
* Industry Successes
* Harvardwood Artist Showcase
* Featured Member Posting: International Agent Seeking assistant/agent trainee - LA
* Member Profile: Gregg Hurwitz '95

Read more
Add your reaction Share

Issue 65 | June 2010

* Director's Notes
* Message from Mia
* Pencil Me In:

LA EVENTS

  • Harvardwood Heads To...Alum Singer/Songwriter Sara Melson @ Room 5, Tues., June 1
  • Harvardwood Seminar Series: Screenwriting Lecture w/ Paul Gulino, author of THE SEQUENCE APPROACH, Thurs., June 3
  • Harvardwood Heads To...the Sunset Strip debut of music group "AS/Ees," Wed., June 9
  • Harvardwood Salon Series: Music, Intellectual Property, and the Law, Thurs., June 17
  • Harvardwood Heads To...LA Screening of THE INFIDEL, Fri., June 25

NJ EVENTS

  • Harvardwood Presents: VERITAS(TY) Swiss Chocolate Tasting at Lindt, Fri., June 4

NY EVENTS

  • Our Fabulous June Moon Harvardwood PARTY!! Fri., June 4
  • Harvardwood Presents: TAMMY GRIMES, Wed., June 16
  • Harvardwood Presents MASTER & DISCIPLE: Beethoven and Ferdinand Ries, Wed., June 23
  • Harvardwood Heads To...NYC Food Film Festival feat. Debra Zarne, Sat., June 26

SF EVENTS

  • Harvardwood Seminar Series: The Science Behind the FOX TV Hit, LIE TO ME, Wed., June 23

OTHER EVENTS

  • Harvardwood co-hosts the Global Networking Night (various cities), Tues., June 22

* Submit for the 2010 Harvardwood Writers' Competition
* Seeking members for the LA Events Committee
* Join the Harvardwood Writers' Program in DC!
* Harvardwood Seeks Office Space
* TV Pilot Showcase Seeks Actors for Exclusive Industry Reading
* Changing Your Email Address? How To Update Your Account
* Industry Successes
* Harvardwood Artist Showcase
* Featured Member Posting: Entertainment Industry Job List
* Member Profile: Geoffrey Fletcher '92

Read more
Add your reaction Share

Issue 64 | May 2010

* Director's Notes
* Message from Mia
* Pencil Me In:

LA EVENTS

  • Harvardwood Presents: Screening of MOTHER AND CHILD and Q&A w/ Director Rodrigo Garcia and Actress Tatyana Ali, TODAY! Sat., May 1
  • Harvardwood Heads To...the Third Annual Artistic License Awards, Sun., May 2
  • Harvardwood Mixer, Wed., May 12
  • LA Harvardwood Music Group meeting and jam session, Thurs., May 20
  • Harvardwood Heads To...The Art of Taqaseem Workshop, Sat., May 22
  • Harvardwood Heads To...Musical Moments with pianist Gerry Bryant, Sat., May 22
  • Harvardwood Seminar Series: Screenwriting Lecture w/ Paul Gulino, Author of THE SEQUENCE APPROACH, Thurs., May 27

BOSTON EVENTS

  • Harvardwood Reunion Mixer, Sat., May 29

NY EVENTS

  • Harvardwood Heads To...SHAWN SNYDER @ The Bitter End * SOLO and ACOUSTIC, Mon., May 3
  • Harvardwood Presents: The Pleasures of High-End Artisanal "Hard" (Alcoholic) Ciders, Wed., May 12
  • Harvardwood Presents: An Interview with JANE ALEXANDER, Tony-Winning Actress and Former NEA Chair, Wed., May 26

TORONTO EVENTS

  • Toronto HotDocs Screening and Mixer Event, TODAY! Sat., May 1

SF EVENTS

  • Harvardwood Heads To...the Third Annual Artistic License Awards, Fri., May 14

* Announcing the launch of Harvardwood Music!
* Positions Available - TV Pilot Showcase - LA
* Harvardwood Books announces new opportunity for mobile publishing (for text and graphic arts!)
* Announcing the launch of the Harvardwood Visual Arts Gallery!
* Seeking hosts for the 2010 HSIP in LA and NY
* Industry Successes
* Harvardwood Helps success!
* Featured Member Posting: Seeking Director, NBCU Digital Entertainment Strategy & Operations - LA
* Member Profile: Rodrigo Garcia '82

Read more
Add your reaction Share

Issue 63 | April 2010

* Director's Notes
* Message from Mia
* Pencil Me In:

LA EVENTS

  • IVY Entertainment presents DEALMAKERS and DEAL BREAKERS, Thurs., Apr. 8
  • Celebrate Earth Day with the Harvardwood Helps Launch Event! Sat., Apr. 17
  • Harvardwood Heads To...Kelley Nicole @ The Talking Stick, Fri., Apr. 30

NY EVENTS

  • Harvardwood Heads To...DIY Days, Sat., Apr. 3
  • Harvardwood Heads To...a reading of Peter Johnson's novel GRANT'S INDIAN, Wed., Apr. 7
  • Harvardwood Presents: Yale Professor Joanne Freeman on BRAWLS IN THE HALLS OF CONGRESS, Fri., Apr. 9
  • Michael Mao invites Harvardwood to a FREE performance by Michael Mao, Thurs., Apr. 15
  • Harvardwood Presents: The Meeting Point of Opera and Chess, Wed., Apr. 28

* Seeking Non-Profit Fundraising Expertise
* Seeking mentors for the new Harvardwood Mentorship Program! - LA
* Call for Entries - Harvardwood Film Festival
* Seeking Hosts for the 2010 HSIP in LA and NY
* Calling all filmmakers going to Hot Docs in Toronto
* Seeking new participants for the NYC Harvardwood Writers Groups - NY
* 2010 Harvardwood Summer Internship Program listings now available
* Industry Successes
* Featured Member Posting: SPECIAL Discount for Harvardwood members for Level One Improv Class - LA
* Member Profile: Michael Cohen '99

Read more
Add your reaction Share

Issue 62 | March 2010

* Director's Notes
* Message from Mia
* Pencil Me In:

LONDON EVENTS

  • Harvardwood London and London Business School Screening of THE INFIDEL, Tues., Mar. 9
  • Harvardwood Heads To...UK premiere of Engi Wassef's MARINA OF THE ZABBALEEN, Thurs., Mar. 11

LA EVENTS

  • Harvardwood invited to - IVY Entertainment Oscars Viewing Party, Sun., Mar. 7
  • Harvardwood Seminar Series: On Comic Books -- Everyone Has to Start Somewhere! Thurs., Mar. 11
  • Harvardwood Heads To...Cornerstone Gala celebrating Paris Barclay, Tues., Mar. 16
  • Harvardwood Heads To..."Reverse Aging Now" Harvard Club lecture, Wed., Mar. 17

NY EVENTS

  • Harvardwood Heads To...HBSWANY Media & Entertainment Insiders Event, Mon., Mar. 8
  • Harvardwood Seminar Series: Internationally Acclaimed Director ANDREI SERBAN, Fri., Mar. 12
  • Harvardwood Heads To...Hasty Pudding Show in NYC! Sat., Mar. 13
  • Showbiz Store & Cafe invites Harvardwood to a FREE screenwriter's workshop, Thurs., Mar. 18

NJ EVENTS

  • Harvardwood NJ Chapter Launches with an event on Sun., Mar. 7!

* Seeking Opportunities for the 2010 Harvardwood Summer Internship Program Worldwide!
* Announcing a new grant for developing theatrical work from the A.R.T. Alumni Lab Artist Grants
* The New Jersey Chapter of Harvardwood Launches!
* Harvardwood participates in the HAA Global Month of Service
* Industry Successes
* And the Oscar goes to...
* Featured Member Posting: Comic Book Publishing Venture Seeks Junior Executive/Editor - LA
* Member Profile: Todd A. Kessler '94 & Glenn Kessler '92

Read more
Add your reaction Share

Issue 61 | February 2010

* Director's Notes
* Message from Mia
* Pencil Me In:

BOSTON EVENTS

  • HBS Entertainment & Media Club invites Harvardwood to the EMC Conference, Thurs., Feb. 11
  • Harvardwood Boston Pre-Oscar Party! Thurs., Feb. 25

NEW YORK EVENTS

  • Harvardwood Heads To...a reading of Peter Johnson's novel GRANT'S INDIAN, Tues., Feb. 2
  • Harvardwood Presents: The Pleasures of High-End Artisanal "Hard" Ciders, Wed., Feb. 10
  • Harvardwood JAZZ Series: Grammy Award Winner Brian Lynch, Wed., Feb. 24
  • Harvardwood Heads To..."Geared Up," John Himmelfarb '68 at Luise Ross Gallery, Thurs., Feb. 25

LA EVENTS

  • Harvardwood Heads To...Alumni Talk, Wine and Cheese Reception, and Book Signing, Sun., Feb. 14
  • Harvardwood co-sponsors a Conversation with Drew Gilpin Faust, Thurs., Feb. 18
  • Harvardwood Presents: Classic Tales and Rebel Rants feat. Jeff "The Dude" Dowd, Fri., Feb. 19
  • Harvard Design School invites Harvardwood to a reception in honor of Charles Waldheim, Fri., Feb. 26

INTERNATIONAL EVENTS

  • Harvardwood Berlinale Mixer, Tues., Feb. 16 - Berlin

* Seeking Panelists for HBS Entertainment and Media Conference - Boston
* Seeking a new Harvardwood Chapter Head for Seattle! - Seattle
* Seeking Writers for HWP Fiction Group - LA
* Positions Available for HWP Feature Showcase
* Industry Successes
* Harvardwood 101 Testimonials!
* Featured Member Posting: Executive Assistant/Business Analyst - LA
* Member Profile: David Seltzer '87

Read more
Add your reaction Share

Issue 60 | January 2010

* Director's Notes
* Message from Mia
* Pencil Me In:

  • Harvardwood & HCG present: Grammy Award winner ART ROSENBAUM & Friends, Jan. 14 – ATL
  • Annual HCSF with Harvardwood Annual Holiday Reunion Party, Thurs., Jan. 14 – SF
  • Harvardwood 101 Mixer, Tues., Jan. 5 – LA
  • Harvardwood Heads To...the premiere of DUMBSTRUCK, Sun., Jan. 10 – LA
  • HBSASC, Harvardwood, & HBS Entertainment Trek present Entertainment Panel 2010, Jan.13 - LA
  • Harvardwood Heads To...Wine & Cheese at Jeremy Juuso's Book Signing, Tues., Jan. 26 – LA
  • Harvardwood Heads To...WINTERMEZZO feat. the Vienna Chamber Orchestra, Tues., Jan. 12 – NJ
  • Harvardwood Presents: Broadway Legend, ARTHUR LAURENTS, Wed., Jan. 13 – NY
  • Harvardwood Presents: Dinner, A Show, & LAUGHTER TIMES THREE!, Wed., Jan. 27 – NY

* Seeking Screenplay Judges - HWP Feature Showcase
* Harvardwood Books: Seeking Submissions for New Short Fiction Anthology
* NOW AVAILABLE:  Harvardwood screenwriting lecture with Corey Mandell on Harvardwood Channel
* Seeking NYC Harvardwood 101 Hosts! - NY
* Re-launching the Harvardwood NYC Writers Program! - NYC
* Industry Successes
* Coming up...Harvardwood is proud to co-sponsor A Conversation with DREW GILPIN FAUST
* Featured Member Posting:  Seeking Stage Manager for HWP Feature Showcase  
* Member Profile: Jon Steinberg '97

Read more
Add your reaction Share

Issue 59 | December 2009

* Director's Notes
* Message from Mia
* Introducing...the Harvardwood Volunteer of the Year (HARVY) Award Winners!
* Pencil Me In:

  • Harvardwood Screenwriting Lecture with Corey Mandell, Thurs., Dec. 3 – LA
  • Harvardwood/Stanford Holiday Party, Tues., Dec. 8 - EARLY BIRD TIX STILL AVAILABLE!! - LA
  • Harvardwood Heads To...Screening of EVERY DAY IS A HOLIDAY, Thurs., Dec.3 – NYC
  • DTA Invites Harvardwood to the Grayson M.P. Murphy Holiday Luncheon, Tues., Dec. 8 – NYC
  • Happy Harvardwood Holiday Party! Fri., Dec. 11 – NYC
  • Harvardwood Heads To...A book reading of new suspense novel, A QUICKER BLOOD, by Susan Alexander, Thurs., Dec. 3 – SF
  • Harvardwood Heads To...Jewish Film Festival Opening Night @ French Embassy, Thurs., Dec. 3 – DC

* Seeking Opportunities (and Housing) for Harvardwood 101 Students!
* Re-launching the Harvardwood NYC Writers' Program! - NYC
* Launching the Harvardwood NYC Public Service Group - NYC
* Seeking Volunteers for the OCS Summer Opportunities Fair, Fri., Dec. 4 - Cambridge
* Seeking Entrants for HBS New Venture Contest
* Industry Successes
* Featured Member Posting: Right-hand Needed for New Music Biz Venture
* Member Profile: Jeff Schaffer '91

Read more
Add your reaction Share

Issue 58 | November 2009

* Director's Notes
* Message from Mia
* Seeking Alums to Provide Opportunities for Harvardwood 101 Students!
* Pencil Me In:

  • Harvardwood Books Launch Events! Wed., Nov. 4 & Thurs., Nov. 5 – Cambridge & LA
  • Harvardwood Presents HEIDEGGER AND A HIPPO w/ Tom Cathcart '61 & Dan Klein '61, Wed., Nov. 4 – NY
  • Harvardwood Presents THE MATT SHOW--MATT CORRIEL '05 SINGS MATT CORRIEL '05, Wed., Nov. 18 – NY
  • Harvardwood Heads To..."A 19th Century Musical Salon in Berlin," Thurs., Nov. 19 – NY
  • Harvardwood Heads To...THE ONLY JEW IN THE VILLAGE, Thurs., Nov. 5 – London
  • Harvardwood Heads To...Alum Sara Melson perform solo acoustic, Fri., Nov. 6 – Cambridge

* Join the Harvardwood Music Advisory Committee! - LA & NY
* Seeking Writers for HWP (Harvardwood Writers' Program) Fiction Group - LA
* Seeking Volunteers for the OCS Summer Opportunities Fair, Fri, Dec. 4 - Cambridge
* Harvardwood Seeks Volunteers Worldwide!
* Industry Successes
* Actors Reading Writers Success!
* Featured Member Posting: Entertainment Industry Job List
* Member Profile: Danny O. Snow '78

Read more
Add your reaction Share

Issue 57 | October 2009

* Director's Notes
* Message from Mia
* Pencil Me In:

  • Harvardwood Presents: Party w/ OTHELLO Director, Peter Sellars '81! Thurs., Oct. 1 – NY
  • Harvardwood Screening of PRAY THE DEVIL BACK TO HELL, Fri., Oct. 9 – NY
  • DTA Invites Harvardwood to: UNDERSTANDING BEETHOVEN-THE DIABELLI VARIATIONS, Thurs., Oct.15–NY
  • Georgia Chapter of Harvardwood Launch Party, Thurs., Oct. 1 – ATL
  • Harvardwood Heads To...HBS & Friends Century City Happy Hour, Thurs., Oct. 1 – LA
  • Harvardwood Heads To...Jeremy Juuso's Book Signing, hosted by Media Services, Thurs., Oct. 1 – LA
  • Harvardwood Seminar Series: KA-POW! The Explosion of Comics in Hollywood, Wed., Oct. 14 – LA
  • Harvardwood Heads To...Half the Sky: An Evening with Author Nicholas Kristof '82, Mon., Oct. 26 – LA
  • Harvardwood Heads To...Sarah Lockwood Barr in Cambridge! Sat., Oct. 24 – MA

* Harvardwood Writers' Program (HWP) for Screenwriters in Boston! - MA
* Seeking Writers for HWP (Harvardwood Writers' Program) Fiction Group - LA
* Actors Reading Writers Seeks Small Space for 3-Hour Workshop - LA
* Support Harvardwood by Shopping at Ralph's and get FREE Months of Membership
* Industry Successes
* HWP TV Pilot Showcase Success!
* Featured Member Posting: Seeking Assistant to Established Executive Producer/Director/Writer
* Member Profile: Jonathan Mostow, '83

Read more
Add your reaction Share